Difference between CCNA, CCNP & CCIE



The CCNA, CCNP, and CCIE are qualifications from one of the leading network solution providers, CISCO SYSTEMS INC. The company has steadily increased the security of Internet-enabled communications through a variety of products, and the most important among them is the certification it offers. Cisco categorizes its certificates into five necessary cadres, and they are as follows.

Introduction to Certificates

  •         Certificates at the associate level.
  •         Certificates at the professional level.
  •         Certificates at the expert level.
  •         Architect-level certificates.

Cisco not only focuses on the Internet or network security but also has certificates in other areas such as telecommunications equipment, high-tech services, etc. From now on, we focus on Cisco’s security-related certifications, i.e., CCNA, CCNP, and CCIE.

These certifications guarantee that you will get him into a job in the area of ​​network security and improve your knowledge, the higher the chances of getting a good job! Since they come from a trusted and widely used network solution company, Cisco, these certifications are accepted worldwide in most multinationals without a second thought!

Before we go to what these certificates are, we will familiarize ourselves with what these levels mean above. As you have already guessed, they are directly related to the level of knowledge that the person has about Internet connectivity and security.

The entry-level certificates provide only a comprehensive knowledge of the network concepts and are very helpful for getting started in network work. You can also opt for it if you do not have any idea of ​​the network concepts and would like to know it for effective internet communication. Some of Cisco’s entry-level certificates are CCENT and CCT.

The associate-level certifications provide an overview of the network setup and troubleshooting processes. Candidates with this certificate can easily create a networking framework that covers issues such as troubleshooting and developing better solutions.

The Professional-level certifications are slightly advanced in their field and provide strong expertise to the networking solutions candidates seek. With the broad coverage of technologies and by providing good knowledge in networking skills, these certificates can offer good jobs to earn a role in your field.

Some of Cisco’s professional certifications include CCDP, CCNP Cloud, CCNP Collaboration, CCNP data center, CCNP routing, and switching, CCNP Security, CCNP service providers, and CCNP Wireless. The

Expert-level certifications are in high demand worldwide and can bring you top-paying jobs. These certificates can provide expert knowledge in the network fields and the related communication processes. Some of Cisco’s expert documents include CCDE, CCIE Collaboration, CCIE Data Center, CCIE Routing and Switching, CCIE Security, CCIE Service Providers, and CCIE Wireless. The

Architect-Level Certificate is the ultimate level among all Cisco certificates, and the person with such a document would be able to meet the growing global needs of every multinational. When you acquire this certificate, you may also be able to translate the business concepts into engineering in an evolutionary way. CCAr is the only Architect-level certificate that Cisco currently offers.

CCNA Security:

Cisco Certified Network Associate can acquire in a variety of domains such as cloud, collaboration, data center, industry, routing and switching, security, service providers, and wireless. Among them, CCNA security certification provides all security-related knowledge, such as network protection, installation process, troubleshooting, etc. As we have already seen, it is in the associate category of Cisco certifications. Therefore, the applicant who seeks them should have completed certification from the lower divisions. Cisco calls this a requirement, and we will discuss these certifications in detail in the upcoming texts.

Required certifications for CCNA security:

The candidate who has received the CCNA Security Certification should have received at least one of the valid certifications listed below.

  •         CCENT
  •         CCNA Routing & Switching
  •         Every CCIE certification

What does it cover?

This certification covers a variety of security-related topics such as SIEM technology, cloud systems, and virtual network topologies, BYOD (Bring Your Device), 802.1 authentications, ISE (Identity Service Engine), Cisco FirePOWER Next-Generation IPS (under Domain 6. 0), Cisco anti-malware protection.

CCNP Security:

A CCNP can successfully select and deploy firewalls, IDS / IPS solutions, and VPNs. They can also provide security in switches, routers, and other network devices. Cisco has designed this curriculum to meet the needs of a Network Security Engineer.

Required certifications for CCNP security:

The candidate must have obtained one of the following certifications before CCNP safety certification.

  •         CCNA Security
  •         Every CCIE certification

What does it cover?

This certification includes a list of tests that should all be completed to complete the CCNP certification. These checks include secure access to various architectures and components, network threat prevention, endpoint control solutions. It also tests the concepts of BYOD. Some of the checks also test your knowledge of how the network perimeter strengthens, such as NAT (Network Address Translation) and zoned-based firewalls. SIMOS testing accesses your experience in VPN technology and remote communication. Only a few of the VPN technologies are SSL VPN and Site-to-Site VPN (FlexVPN,

DMVPN). The SITCS exam focuses on firewalls and tests your knowledge in AMS (Advanced Malware Protection) as well as web and e-mail security.

CCIE Security:

CCIE defined as “Cisco Certified Internetwork Expert Security” and provides information about the entire Cisco security technology. As a person with CCIE security, you can design, develop, deploy, and fix the security-related issues in any network. There is also an idea of ​​ modern security threats, risks, vulnerabilities, and other requirements.

Requirements for CCIE security:

The good news is that before CCIE security certification, you do not need to delete any of the Cisco certifications. However, Cisco advises candidates to gain at least 3 to 5 years of work experience. Anyway, it’s an optional one, and you can always go for it as you wish.

What does it cover?

It includes next-generation concepts such as firewalls, intrusion prevention, policy management, identity services, malware protection, and device hardening.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *